Thursday, March 17, 2011

Frasier Comics: Special Edition




Due to my unfortunate width margins, you will have to click on the image to see the full comic.

Frasier + modern music elitism. Why haven't these two ideas merged together before?! Obviously the artistry of the drawings is severely lacking, but I'm kind of proud of the storyline/jokes in here. There's some a lot of stuff going on, but it's pretty consistent with the characters, at least I think.There was going to be a more complex storyline with a few more one liners, but for the life of me I couldn't bear to draw more panels. I am terrible at art, I had to stop the torture.

Anyway, I have definitely seen these types of conversations/debates/arguments/thoughts transpire in the "real" world and I find it all incredibly fascinating. Back when I was in high school, message boards (forums? threads?) were actually pretty poppin' and relevant. I had a lot of good conversation and discovered tons of new music through this outlet.

I'm not sure if you guys remember this (my age is showing, perhaps), but there was a time not too long ago when "emo" was not part of everyday mainstream vocabulary. The complete tool that I am, I actually never even heard of it until I looked up the meaning behind Blink 182's song "Emo" my freshman or sophomore year of high school. I felt like I was discovering this whole new world where I definitely didn't belong and people were judging me because I was a 15 year old loser that liked Weezer even though it was more appropriate to hate on them because it was like the underground scene knew that they would produce the "Green" album and it would make "Blue" album enthusiasts want to jump off buildings and does Rivers really need to wear those glasses anyway or does he do that for show I mean we already know he's smart enough to go to Harvard why does he have to wear spectacles to remind us that he knows big words and can possibly do long division by hand what is going on here where is a period WHY IS THIS SENTENCE STILL GOING STRONG.

anyway. on these music message boards, it never failed that when any unfortunate soul dare mislabel a band as "emo" when they were really plastic pop punk or mainstream filler or Hot Topic music, that these delightful, magical creatures would pop out of thin air to tear the poor ignorant individual a new one and go on a 15 page rant about the history of emo and why Rites of Spring was too good for their blasphemous ears to listen to; perhaps their self titled studio album was in a pitch that only true audiophiles and certain breeds of dogs could hear. I'm not even sure that these people ever had fun or even actually enjoyed music, but it was as though their life calling was to patrol every crevice of the internet to scare people out of ever calling The Ataris or Saves the Day emo again.

Now that 12 years have passed and like all good things, American pop culture has completely turned something meaningful into cheap slang, I wonder whatever happened to those music elitists? Are they okay? Did they slit their wrists with Fugazi records? If they're still around, I can only imagine they are holed up in their parents' basements cradled in fetal position with Sunny Day Real Estate on repeat. And when they use the internet, they still use dial up. This fact is very important.

Either that, or they sold out and discovered Justin Bieber. Motherfuckers, I bet that's exactly what happened.

If you are or were one of these delightful creatures, please get in touch with me. I would very much like to interview you and/or turn you into a case study.

When I grow up, I want to troll the music industry.

I have no idea what happened to this post. I think it was originally about TV.

No comments:

Post a Comment